Normans in Natural Light

It’s 1066.  The Norman army did not fight under fluorescent light bulbs.  So, they finally came out under the sun.  My Memorial Day weekend project was to put the final touches on the flag poles and movement trays and photograph the Normans in natural light.  Living in a city apartment, I don’t often get the chance to haul my stuff outside for a photo shoot.  In this case, I hauled everything out to my in-laws in the suburbs where I have a second painting area where I can truly stretch out.   This is my first experimentation with photographing miniatures in natural light.  You can tell the difference.  The day was still a bit cloudy.  I also found that using additional light in the form of a bulb or flash also helped significantly.  Unfortunately, these photos were taken without any additional light.  No other special settings were made on the camera.

These were a quick and dirty paint job.  I explained it in an earlier post.  See https://nycjadie.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/normans/.  Basically, I blockpainted them with Citadel Foundation and metallic paints and then washed them with Citadel’s Devlan Mud or Black wash.  There are no highlights anywhere, except on the horses.  I averaged about 1 unit a weekend.  The bases are made with craft paints and GF9’s static grass.

Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!Crusader Miniatures - Normans!

3 responses to “Normans in Natural Light

  1. Great Pictures!

    Regards from Germany,

    Yitu

  2. Great Stuff!!! I am working on the Crusader Saxons right now. What rules are these based for?

    Matt

    • Thanks Matt. They’re based for WAB, although, admittedly, they haven’t seen any action yet. I’m still working on the Byzantines for them to fight, also by Crusader.

Leave a Reply

